In which my pretty little hair-do don't do what it used to

The clouds are blowing in to cover the clear sky much like my headcold is advancing, about to cover up my... good health. Let's start over. As I look skyward, I see hovering clouds about to obscure the remains of this beautiful day, much as the advancing waves of germs swirling through my system are about to cloud my otherwise ...good...ness of health. ness.

I'm coming down with a cold, or something equally miserable, and also, it's going to start raining soon.

Anyway. I ran into someone today whom I've not seen in a long time. I am generally friends with her and her husband, but I haven't made the effort to call in quite a while. When I was talking to her, she was asking me why not, and, put on the spot, I could think only about how disheveled I looked, wearing no make-up, with unbrushed hair, and how she'd be sure to tell her husband. I apologized for not being in better touch, and told her that the Keelhauler and I had gotten a new boat recently. She asked me how big the boat was, and I answered, "Forty-five feet." She nodded sympathetically and said, "Oh, so not much bigger than the one you had."

It was then I started to recall why I don't call them any more. For one thing, they have three unruly identical pugs who jump and bite and snort and wee on EVERYTHING. Secondly, every time she'd ask me to house-sit, she'd say, "It's only for three days, but at least it'll get you off that boat.

I'm the first to admit that living aboard a sailboat isn't for everybody, but I'll be damned if I'll cultivate friendships with people who pity me for living on one.

Then again, I have a very heavy chip on my shoulder about people who condescend to me because my belongings aren't all brand-new. I could go on about the tiresome qualities of the ill-bred and nouveau-riche, but my head hurts and um, it's going to start raining any moment.

And anyway, there's no recourse against snobs and people who believe that money buys status. All I can do is fail to invite them sailing with us, or indulge in Champagne and impromptu singing and laughing and guitar-playing and all that. But for the rest of you, come out and go sailing with us! It's totally fun. Just wait til my cold is over.

Oh, and P.S., I know it is ridiculous, but I can't get my comments to work, so if you are of kind heart and spirit and enjoy to lend advice, please e-mail me. As a reward, I will send you one of the flying squirrels my brother has trapped in his attic, for release back into the wild. (They're totally safe, incidentally, in their luxurious cage at my brother's house--he's very conscientious, just doesn't want them skibbling through the walls any more.) Plus, they are so cute you will want to VOMIT in delight!



Star of the day. . .Gary Mull
posted @ 6:13 p.m. on March 02, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......