The violet who fell from grace with the garden

While I wait for the fabulous and talented Willowfox to work her magic and add a working comments section, sheerly out of the kindness of her heart and NOT due to the flying squirrel I bribed her with, I thought I�d let my mind wander over to lunanina for a little free-association Friday action. I thought we could all listen to the Free Design and groove on the answers in tandem. And yet� that was not to be. My mind is not freely associating this afternoon, owing to a lunch of highly spiced Thai noodles, so all I could come up with was a list of free-associated words that started at �finance charges� and ended with �Third Reich,� and I�m sorry, but the Nazis are just not groovy.

I tried to find a picture of a boat like ours, to eludicate yesterday�s entry, but aside from a couple of mentions in race results here and there, I found nothing. I�m just going to post this picture, and pretend it�s our boat.

I know: it�s super nice.

Speaking of free-association, which I was, looking at that picture reminds me of a movie I saw recently, �The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea,� starring Kris Kristofferson and Sarah Miles, who supposedly have this amazing and sensual love affair during the course of the picture, but whose appeal is limited owing to Ms. Miles� hard-boiled-egg eyes which mist over and grow luminous during all the love scenes. In addition, her mouth widens into an elastic, froggy ovoid, wider at each end than in the middle, much like Laura Dern's when she cries in "Blue Velvet." It�s seriously disturbing. (And hott.) If you haven�t seen this film, I recommend that you rent it. My honest nature prevents me from revealing the ending, which is almost as upsetting as the love scenes, and which involves several preternaturally mature British schoolboys with plummy accents and date-rape drugs.

Watch it today!



Star of the day. . .Sterling Hayden
posted @ 4:01 p.m. on March 03, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......