In which objects in motion tend to stay that way

Good afternoon, and happy March 1st. I hope the first words out of everyone's mouth this morning were "Rabbit Rabbit," thereby ensuring a month of good luck. (If not, too bad. It's too late, and you're going to have to resign yourself to your fate. I don't make the rules.)

I'd like to thank everyone who arrived here yesterday after Googling "freakishly large boobs." After an initial period of resistance, I've decided to embrace the phrase (figuratively, although literally would be super-hott)and become your number-one source for freakishly large boobs! (Note: I have not yet decided how I will enact this, but you'll be the first to know.)

The wise and popular Smed recently wrote an entry explaining his impatience with the phrase "I'm in transition," which stems from his observation that life is not static, and hence we are all always in some state of transition. I am thinking of that concept today, looking at a document titled Yearly Transits and Progressions for Violet, an astrological report I ordered online in yet another attempt to make sense of my life.

It arrived almost immediately after I ordered it, and I opened it hoping it would contain chapters titled Play These Numbers To Win the Lottery Today! or Auspicious Editorial Contacts for Major Publications but unsurprisingly, found nothing of the sort.

Instead, I started reading about "transiting," and "progressed planets," and wound up with a slight sense of vertigo, contemplating the motion of the universe. Regardless of beliefs about astrological influences, it suddenly seemed funny to me to imagine that in a unverse in constant motion, I might ever hope for stability.



Star of the day. . .the Night Walkers
posted @ 12:48 p.m. on March 01, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......