His paintings had twice the color other paintings had

Well, have you heard about the painter Vincent van Gogh? He loved color and he let it show. -- Jonathan Richman, "Vincent van Gogh"

Happy birthday to Vincent van Gogh. I don't think he can read this, having died in 1890, and hence lacking skill in navigating the Hinternet, but I'd like to put it out there anyway, on the off chance that someone more recently dead is tutoring him in proper use of the mouse. (Johnnie Cochran, I'm looking in your direction...)

There is a quote from van Gogh that frequently springs to mind--it's memorialized on a refrigerator magnet that my cousin sent me from Amsterdam, and I think its timeless sentiment still rings true, so I'll share it here. Written by Vincent to his brother Theo, it goes like this:

Please send me some more money.

So, yeah. Remember that.



Star of the day. . .Theo
posted @ 3:48 p.m. on March 30, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......