In which I make progress

Following yesterday's Supplemental Questionnaire Challenge, which I finally completed with moderate success, I move on to today's task:

Completing the job application.

I let the bright green application form languish and wilt in my purse for a week or two, allowing it to absorb the vibes and germs from my daily life, in order that it might better represent me in the Human Resources office.

Today, I picked up a pen and began to fill out the form. This was more difficult than I'd anticipated. I've worked here at Houptigon Enterprises for four years, so that part is easily documented, but I'm hard-pressed to describe anything that came before.

Needing back-up, I e-mailed my friend Mr. Gelato, who worked with me in San Francisco. The conversation, ostensibly concerning his willingness to act as a reference for me, devolved into shared reminiscence over our days working together, and our many trips to the Walgreens on the corner of Pine Street.

From there, I e-mailed my prior supervisor, Focaccia, and similarly reminisced about the time we dyed Easter eggs in the kitchen of the office, and a document I created during a time of great stress, entitled the Outburst Log, in which I catalogued each coworker's outbursts, the subject thereof, the intended target, and any innocent bystanders. Ah, the good old days.

I became sidetracked in a long reverie about San Francisco, and how much I loved walking around downtown, and various other unproductive thoughts, and when I finally dragged myself back to earth, I looked at the job application and thought, "Awwwwwww, I'm applying for THAT job?" It was a bit of a let-down. There's nothing specifically wrong with the job, but it can't compete with my Nostalgia-Enhanced Previous-Employment Fantasy Realm.



Star of the day. . .Mr. Gelato
posted @ 11:32 a.m. on February 23, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......