Ce grand mechant vous

From time to time when I come in to work, I find that someone has turned off the power to my computer speakers. I don�t know who is doing it, but it irritates me to think that there�s some self-appointed corporate watchdog surveying my complete mess of a desk and self-righteously saving the company the .002 cents it costs to run the tiny green light on the right-hand speaker by turning off the power. Is this person doing this as part of his job? And if so, how is it cost-effective to have him wander the floor looking for speaker lights?

In our corporate culture, there are a couple of acceptable ways I could handle the situation. First, I could attach a post-it reading Please Leave These Speakers On! Or, more in keeping with the signs people actually post around here, WHOEVER IS TURNING OFF THE SPEAKERS: PLEASE STOP!!!!!!!!!! (Ideally, I would create the sign on my computer, using several fonts of conflicting colors and styles, and possibly turning the word �speakers� into a possessive.) Another choice I have is to send out a message to either the entire department of 75 or �all e-mail users,� a list of 500 or so people, making an elaborate case in passive voice for the validity of my �speakers on� policy.

The speaker on/off business came up because this morning, I found myself thinking too much about a very annoying and pointless argument I had on the phone last night with the Keelhauler. While waiting at a stoplight, I noticed the spectacular sunrise, much more worthy of attention than the stupid disagreement. While I waited for the light to turn green, I studied the sunrise, happily noting its smoky violet/golden yellow color combination similar to my new web site. How about that. Anyway, I put on Serge Gainsbourg�s �Couleur Caf�,� and let �Cha Cha Cha du Loup� soothe away the last of my irritation.

I brought the CD into work with me, to continue the bossa nova party, but--how short-lived is my tranquility--immediately felt irritation when I realized that once again, the Speaker Monitor had been around. (The Keelhauler enjoys to complain that I am as high-strung as a thoroughbred race horse, an accusation that secretly fills me with pride, as if my neuroses are evidence of superior breeding.)

So, anyway, all I did was turn the speakers back on, and now I am listening to Serge again. Oo-oo-oo-oo, cha cha cha du loup! [whinny]



Star of the day. . .Serge Gainsbourg
posted @ 10:17 p.m. on November 23, 2004 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......