In which I'm only going through the motions, baby

I don�t know whether to blame the fog, ennui, or Neptune going retrograde, but something is causing me to have a case of the blahs that is manifesting as writer�s block. Yay! Yay! We all love writer�s block!

The following is just me cranking the starter, trying to get the engine to fire. (Rule No. 1 of conquering writer�s block: A little automotive metaphor�ll cure what ails ya!)

  • Because he is offshore for a while, the Keelhauler has charged me with ordering him new checks. We did not discuss the design of these proposed checks. I am sure that he�d want something basic and inexpensive, but there are so many check designs out there, calling me, calling me. Do I do the responsible thing and get the blue safety checks? Or do I, wallowing in choice, order checks featuring vintage muscle cars, Care Bears, or Jesus? Am I the right person to make this decision?

  • I will probably feel better if I listen repeatedly to the ridiculously disjointed mix CD I cobbled together this weekend. Driven by nostalgia rather than any musical congruity, this CD throws together Leonard Cohen, Jonathan Richman, Greg Brown, the Dandy Warhols, Richard Hell and the Monkees into an uncomfortable little cocktail party. And Echo and the Bunnymen. I wasn�t going to say that one, but there, I did. And Sisters of Mercy. Yeah. It�s so great.

  • I house-sat for my boss over the weekend. He called me when he got back to report that he couldn�t find the mail. We determined that the cleaning lady must have thrown it out. I had not thought too much about what I�d put into the trash until I realized that my boss was going to be going through it. I now have a weird, uncomfortable feeling whenever he walks by. I think he does, too.

  • Also World Party. There�s a World Party song on that CD. Suck on that!

  • You know, I don�t think I should feel bad about the trash when my boss has, in full view of any visitor to his house, two Hillary Duff CDs.

  • Maybe I should revisit those Donny Osmond checks I considered for myself a few months back.

More later, when I�m back on track.



Star of the day. . .Ann Toth
posted @ 12:38 p.m. on May 29, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......