In which I reach out in the spirit of community

It can be a solitary existence here in the harbor, painting, sailing around, looking for things to paint. I tire of the loneliness, and it saps my creativity. I've been looking for a community.

A month or two ago, I joined an art gallery here in town. I say "joined" because it's a collaborative, which means that my membership requires a certain number of volunteer hours per month. Last month, I painted the new grout on the front windows. As the newest member, I was startled that they trusted me with the responsibility, and I put my entire heart into the project. I painted them dark green, according to the paint left for me in the break room, labeled with my name (spelled wrong, but that's cool, that's cool... there are many ways to skin a cat). I spent all my volunteer hours for the month (2.5) painting the grout, and when I finished, I stood back and said, "Today, I am an artist." I am part of that gallery now. Yes, I'm part of the outside, and although I signed my work, I had only one color paint, so my signature is difficult to decipher, but they cannot deny my contribution.

Some day, I will have work displayed inside the gallery. Not this month, and not next month, probably, but some day, soon. There are a lot of artists, and we all jockey for space on the gallery walls. So, my series of hyper-realistic car wreck oil miniatures was rejected... the gallery director is retiring next month, and a new director means a chance for me to submit the same work to a new set of eyes! And bribes. Some of them might take a bribe.

The gallery isn't my only hope for community and support. There seem to be a lot of artists on diaryland, I've noticed. Painters. Sculptors. I just read this in someone else's diary, and it gives me hope:

"If anyone frequently visits office buildings, I have a couple paintings that are going up in one soon!"

I frequently visit office buildings! She's talking to me! Finally, I've found the artistic community I've wanted for so, so long. Where is the office building she mentions? She doesn't say, because it doesn't matter. It is every office building: pick one, from Fresno to Frankfurt, and just by entering, you will become part of a great, communal wave of creativity.



Star of the day. . .Ernie Menahune
posted @ 11:11 p.m. on January 25, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......