The good, the bad, and the violet

The lovely and sensational Kitten of Kung Fu has invited readers to tag themselves in a game called Good and Evil. Well, I just made that title up. I don't remember what it's called, and it's probable that evil didn't enter into it.

The object is to name ten good things and ten bad things about oneself, so here goes:

TEN GOOD THINGS ABOUT ME, VIOLET

  1. I am an excellent speller.

  2. I have good taste and can spot trends ahead of their emergence.

  3. My natural curiosity leads me into interesting situations and friendships, and accounts for a large mental rolodex of facts.

  4. I can make pleasant conversation with almost anyone.

  5. I am creative: I can paint, kind of; sing, kind of; and write, kind of. I can also sail moderately well.

  6. I am good at listening to and reasoning through the problems of others.

  7. I appreciate beauty and humor in unexpected forms.

  8. I have a good memory for birthdays (Miss Chollaqueen, I missed yours and I'm sorry. Miss Scarlett, I remember yours is Sunday.)

  9. I value friendships and experience over material things.

  10. I appreciate detail, for example, a well-designed typeface that comes with all the ligatures; the subtle colors in a set of Lalique Mures china; or the way the tissue paper is pleated inside a gift-wrapped box from Gump's.

TEN BAD THINGS ABOUT ME, VIOLET

  1. I find myself unbearably hideous, hate the way I look 99.9% of the time, hate being photographed, and hate looking at the photographs, once they exist. So, overall: I am deeply insecure. So sue me. (Note: do not actually sue me.)

  2. Because I am not the best at something--writing, singing, painting, etc., I at times have trouble finding it worthwhile to continue my efforts.

  3. I am extremely disorganized, which leads to bouts of malaise, as I contemplate the effort required to organize my life. I frequently find it easier to drink wine and do nothing, which leads to further chaos.

  4. It is far easier to think of bad things than good, as regards myself. I am extremely self-critical.

  5. I have trouble letting go of slights, especially unfair ones. I think this is a function of my need to be right all the time, which should probably be its own item on this list.

  6. I am mindful of class difference, value breeding over cash (as if I have either) and resentful of anyone who treats me as their inferior on the basis of money. I hate the nouveau riche and the tasteless although there is no point in caring about either. I think anyone who uses the words "class" or "classy" is tacky. As I said, there is no point to this.

  7. I lack ambition.

  8. I have trouble committing to anything.

  9. I can be intolerant, especially with those I consider high-maintenance, reactive, cruel, willfully ignorant, self-involved, or illogical. At some point, I fit into each of those categories.

  10. I resent when people miss my point.

Here endeth the list. Blogger, tag thyself.



Star of the day. . .Carl Jung
posted @ 9:48 a.m. on September 22, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......