Absurd, but viable

I don't watch the news on television because I dislike the reaction it inspires in me, something between despair and a kind of desensitized apathy.

Tonight, watching for reports on local weather (mud/waterspouts/more news at eleven), I accidentally watched a clip of the President, who was standing at a podium at a press conference, and announcing that all the reports stating that the US is going to attack Iran are "ridiculous," followed by, "...that being said, all the options are on the table."

So... the reports aren't ridiculous? What did he mean? Because it sounded to me like he told us that the idea of attacking Iran was ridiculous, but under consideration.

And it now occurs to me to wonder why I should have been surprised by his admission.



Star of the day. . .Luis Bunuel
posted @ 6:40 p.m. on February 22, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......