If I'm wasting my time, then nothing could be better

Welcome to Procrastination Theatre, with your host, Violet "No Time Like the Future" de Winter.

I am overwhelmed! Which is my own damn fault, mostly anyway, and when I feel overwhelmed, I grind slowly to a halt, and sit there until I feel like moving again. At this moment, I have no estimate on when that might be, so it looks like stasis for the near future.

On top of the many little activities and dull responsibilities I have lined up, I have just gotten another mural job which will take a month or so. Not that I am complaining--I very much want the job, but it will require a lot of time and effort to complete, and right now I'm feeling like I'm coming a bit undone, although not to the extent described in the "She's Come Undone" book by Wally Lamb, where all those terrible things happen to that poor girl, what was her name? Dolores?

Here's the location of my next mural:

I think I'm going to need some kind of a ladder. Or spring shoes. That would be cool. Boing! Boing!

I've already drawn the initial design, which the client approved, over a glass of wine (bonus!). Now I have to get materials and rent scaffolding and all that, and prepare enough of a plan so this job doesn't stretch out so long that my fee works out to 34 cents an hour.

Naturally, with all these details to take care of and the house-sitting gig I've got for the next three weeks (with extensive gardens requiring attention, a cat, a giant rabbit and a rat), the boat which still is not unpacked, and my dearest friend Shandy coming for a much-overdue visit, I figure my best plan of action is to visit the Johnny Depp paperdoll-creation site sent to me by Lorelei. Perhaps you will enjoy to visit it too, if only for the snuffling fun you can have staring at Cartoon Johnny Depp in his black and krodly briefs.

I attempted to re-make Cartoon Johnny Depp over in the striking image of the Keelhauler, and came mighty close with the combination of a white shirt and cut-off "man-pris," but the footwear issue was problematic. Also, the Keelhauler lacks Johnny Depp's coal-black simmering gaze, and I realized the exercise was futile.

Not to be totally discouraged, I headed over to the Hero Machine, where I had more luck. Oddly, the Hero Machine had nearly an exact replica of the Keelhauler's wardrobe, including the man-pris. (And yes, I've tried to get him to stop wearing them, but he refuses. This is no longer my department.)

I was able to create this great and accurate representation of the Keelhauler's alter-ego, whom I've dubbed "The Green Rooster." Please enjoy the beauty:

It even has his hair! Although Green Rooster's chest is a little more "buffed out," but still, it's close enough. You know you dig him, girls! He's going to be so proud.

P.S.

Check out the latest horror to-do from the mysterious and sinister James Felix McKenney! It's called The Off Season and stars Handsome Actor Don Wood, Tall Scary Angus Scrimm, and a host of other fine actors.



Star of the day. . .Donovan
posted @ 12:10 p.m. on July 12, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......