In which my life flashes before my eyes

Five moments I hope to revisit, should my life ever flash before my eyes:

  1. The time when I was three years old and got lost in the Windsor Button Shop and a nice lady came to my aid, and walked me a distance of four feet over to the adjacent aisle, where my mother was looking at some seam binding. I was embarrassed that I'd been crying when my mother was so easily found, and when the lady asked, "Is that your mother?" I said, "NO."
  2. That time my friends and I held hands to make a chain across our leafy little suburban street in order to stop a police car to report a car we considered to have been speeding, but about which we could report no details, not even the color.
  3. The time I thought the box of Good-n-Plentys was empty, but it turns out there were two more in there! That really should be number one on this list.
  4. Humiliating recorder solo, ninth grade chorus concert.
  5. My first driving lesson, in our family's Toyota Corolla, with my father, and my brother in the backseat. Unable to manage the clutch, I navigated the car at snail speed diagonally across the road, over the curb and rolled it into a neighbor's fence, causing my father to rip the keys out of the ignition and kick me out of the car.

Good times, good times.



Star of the day. . .Robert Mitchum
posted @ 4:37 p.m. on March 19, 2008 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......