In which I reveal the answers

And now, the fabulous answers to the Memorable Movie Quote Quiz of 2008! I was a little disappointed at the level of cheating I saw taking place, and I hope to see a lot more in the future. The answers are right out there in the open on Google, my friends, so please remember that for next time.

And with that, I'll move right on to the answers:

  1. I hate you! I hate you! I hate you! No I didn't mean that, I love you. I hate you! -- Kim came closest on this one with her answer of "Joan Crawford," so I'm giving her credit. The line is from William Castle's epic axe-murderer drama Strait-Jacket, which everyone should rent today.


  2. You need to stop calling her that or she'll cut your tongue out. -- No one was familiar with this line, spoken by the character of Medea in another William Castle film, 13 Ghosts, which I saw on Creature Double-Feature as a kid, providing eleven wonderful years of nightmares.


  3. Why Milo, you didn't finish your tapioca. No wonder you have a nervous stomach. -- The finest film ever made, The Ghost and Mr. Chicken. Miss Claudia got this one, proving the benefits of helpful, helpful cheating. This line is spoken by Halcyon Maxwell, played by the magnificent Reta Shaw, who never lets her husband forget that while he may be president of the bank, she owns the controlling interest. (Fifty-one percent, to be exact.)


  4. Oh, P.S. Reason why I write you, Abby, is kind of embarrassing. You see, a shark got me pregnant. -- There may not be a more engrossing film that the one from which this line is taken: The 1973 made-for-TV The Voyage of the Yes, starring Desi Arnaz, Jr. and Mike Evans. Two young men--one from bourgeois Marina del Rey, one from the mean streets of Chicago--come together under unusual circumstances, with the common goal of sailing a 26-foot boat to Hawaii, for no discernible purpose. Armed only with a small supply of food, a cockroach, an acoustic guitar, and a single Simon and Garfunkel song, they set out to fight the mighty Pacific. Will they make it? Desi Arnaz's blank stare says... Maybe.


  5. No, no, no. -- This one was tricky, but despite Dwiff's valiant effort, there were no correct answers. This highly memorable quote comes straight from the beloved Robert Mitchum Christmas film, The Night of the Hunter. Think back, those of you who've seen it. At some point in the film, the character of Robert Mitchum's new wife is yammering on about something, and she's all, "But Robert Mitchum, you're so hott, and I've waited so long... Now that we're married, let's have sex!" and Robert Mitchum is like, "No, no, no." Because despite his hottness, he is also a religious nutbar with "LOVE" and "HATE" tattooed on his knuckles, and he's all, "Right Hand and Left Hand are in a constant struggle!" and acts it out to demonstrate this metaphysical concept by punching his fists against each other. He totally reminds me of this dude, Fine-Ass Bob, who used to live on my dock. He'd been in a car wreck, and was obsessed with working out. We'd run into him every once in a while, and he'd be like drinking appletinis and lecturing us about physical fitness. "Sure it hurts," he'd say, rubbing his withered thigh, "but when Mr. Pain gets too bad, I just concentrate on something else, like nailing some fine-ass woman..." which is why we called him Fine-Ass Bob.

    Anyway, on further thought, it might have been the wife character who says "No, no, no." I don't remember.

    Yeah. So! The Night of the Hunter.



  6. You can do anything you want to do, if you put your mind to it. -- This was a tough one, partly because it is so very memorable, and partly because it's kind of a curve ball. I'm going to give it to Tracy27 for her guess of Willy Wonka because I like her, but this quote was lifted from a 1991 episode of MacGyver, which is just as good as any big-screen movie, guest-starring Randolph Mantooth as �Earl Stringer.� Plus, it's not just a quote: It's sound advice.


  7. A ghoul, as I'm sure you know, is a disgusting creature who opens graves and feeds on corpses. -- Dwiff got this one, possibly via cheating, which as I mentioned is fine and I applaud. Not that he cheated. It is from Mr. Sardonicus, another gem in the crown of William Castle. There's probably a better metaphor. Anyway: this movie has leeches! That's all you need to know.


  8. Do you remember the fun we had when you poisoned me? -- Classic Rose guessed Addams Family for this one, and although that is not the right answer, I am giving her the point because it does sound like something Morticia would say. Or Fester. The quote actually comes from the 1959 William Castle psychodrama House on Haunted Hill, starring Vincent Price and, among others, super-nerdy eternal sniveler Elisha Cook, Jr. Said house is as notable for its Frank Lloyd Wright design as it is for the secret vat of sulfuric acid beneath the the wine cellar floor.


  9. Home? I have no home. Hunted, despised, Living like an animal! The jungle is my home. But I will show the world that I can be its master! I will perfect my own race of people. A race of atomic supermen which will conquer the world! Ha ha ha ha ha ha! -- Bride of the Atom, a.k.a. Bride of the Monster, by Ed Wood. This quote is also featured in the film Ed Wood, so I would have accepted that answer. Miss Claudia gets the point.


  10. Is Mike Hunt here? Has anyone seen Mike Hunt? -- Miss Catie correctly identified this as being lifted from Porky's, which I appreciate, because I have never actually seen Porky's. I've never seen E.T. either, so get off my back.

And one bonus:

We'll have a Dalmatian plantation. A Dalmatian plantation, I say. -- Readersguide gets this one with her answer of 101 Dalmatians, and a gold star for being the first guesser.

Thanks to all who played, and to those who didn't: rent the entire William Castle catalog today as penance.



Star of the day. . .Rosemary DeCamp
posted @ 9:36 a.m. on March 10, 2008 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......