In which I am vindicated

You all called me crazy when I took up a collection for an office umbrella, but you will not be calling me names today, not with the sudden downpour and lightning storm that's passing through town. No, instead, you will be smiling entreatingly, pointing toward the corner where I have the Community Kitten Umbrella displayed, wondering if maybe it would be OK if you just this once borrowed the Kitten Umbrella that only weeks ago you derided for its unseemly brightness.

And I will shout down your request, and instead hand the Kitten Umbrella to one of the kind contributors to the fund, the generous people who saw the page I ripped out of the Avon sale catalog I found on the ground and put a quarter or a nickel into the envelope I provided for donations.

Gaze upon the Kitten Umbrella in all its glory, gaze upon it!

And then walk in your soggy shoes to the post office, to mail your letter of complaint to someone who cares. For this unexpected downpour has proven that I am a visionary, and the happy kittens will protect a more generous heart than yours.

Ah, fuck it, it stopped raining. So... what are you doing for lunch?



Star of the day. . .Mary Poppins
posted @ 5:12 p.m. on September 26, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......