I hope tomorrow you'll find better things

I started moving into my new office / studio tonight that I rented with Edie.

In my mind, it will be a gorgeous salon, filled with light and tasteful antiques. In real life, it will be a white-walled office space with a grey rug, but I am convinced that my powers of self-delusion can transform it into a Realm of Excellence.

If you read today's earlier entry, you will recognize that I was having the best day ever! And it just got better once I left the office, and learned I've been called for jury duty tomorrow. And my favorite cocktail glass mysteriously broke. It featured an image of Don Ho in red, and when there was liquid in the glass, Don appeared to be submerged up to his eyes, and staring directly at the drinker over the surface of the beverage.

But, on the upshot, I am headed for some good comma. Karma. I meant "karma." I went to the Home Deepio to buy some plywood for a painting project, and the nice, overly made-up girl at the checkstand charged me for only three. I looked at the receipt, and told her I was buying four sheets. She apologized, and thanked me, and rang up the fourth sheet. She shrugged, handing me the receipt, and said, "Good things come to honest people... right?" I don't know. Do I even qualify? The client was reimbursing me for the cost, so it's not like it was my own money I would have saved. I don't know. I'm going to take the point, though.

So, the Keelhauler and I worked and moved things to the office, setting up shelving and arranging boxes. We just got home, and I'm starving, so he agreed to make dinner. "What kind of soup do we have?" I asked, like a grouch. He held up a giant yellow can, and said, "Vegetable soup!" but hid the label. "What KIND of vegetable soup?" I asked with suspicion--he tends to buy groceries at the 99-cent store, with mixed success. He said, "Happy... European... elf soup!" and revealed the label, which depicts what genuinely do appear to be happy elves, although their national origin is difficult to determine. "See? They love you so much!" he said, pointing to the elves.

It's almost midnight, and I'm hoping tomorrow is a better day. We're eating soup and listening to Lucinda Williams's "Ventura."

I want to watch the ocean bend the edges of the sun
I want to get swallowed up in an ocean of love

In fifteen minutes, Al's radio show comes on, all the way from Tucson. By then, it will be a new day. P.S. At midnight, I heard something in the distance that sounded like an owl. I turned off the sound on the computer, and listened more closely. There was definitely an owl nearby. I opened the hatch to see if I could find him, and I couldn't see him, but I think he was in a palm tree a short distance away. I've never heard an owl in the three years I've lived here. Maybe he cancels out the black cat that ran across my path in the parking lot earlier.



Star of the day. . .Ray Davies
posted @ 11:28 p.m. on April 12, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......