In which it's a summertime thing

Isn�t it a beautiful day out there, in the sunshine? Sure, it is�just take another swig of your Miller High Life and agree with me. The sun is shining, which isn�t a prerequisite to beautify a day, but it sure lights up the rainbow sticker I put on the French doors out to the balcony. I stuck it there for a touch of early-�80s flair rather than to herald any gayness on my part, but I realize that people will read into it what they will. And who cares, I say, hoisting my imaginary Miller High Life. I never was one to limit my appeal, not intentionally, anyway.

And so on this beautiful day, I am celebrating writing my 600th entry. It�s this one, the one you�re reading right now. Isn�t it fantastic? I know. In between staring through my rainbow sticker at the street below, I am marveling at my own endurance and range. �Way to go, Violet!� the imaginary throngs are cheering. �Keep writing!�

I thought I�d revisit the early days of Spark and Foam (i.e., this online journal, for those of you who woke up mid-sentence and began to panic). Here is a little cop-out retrospective of highlights from my first year as an online journalist. Because that�s what I am: a journalist. Just like Jillian Barberi.

Highlights from Spark and Foam 2004.
Read and improve your life.

  • In which I am nearly abducted by a stranger and have an excellent time in spite of it, kind of.
  • In which the Keelhauler has a great money-making idea�feel free to copy it.
  • In which I fail to heed a warning, with hilarious results! (Not really.)
  • In which I reveal a long-lost love.
  • In which I reach the top and ask myself, �Was it worth it?� (Hint: No, it was not worth it.)
  • In which I�ve got a little list.
  • Happy summertime, you beautiful people out there in the dark.



    Star of the day. . .Herman Blume
    posted @ 2:10 p.m. on June 21, 2007 before | after

    |

    She lay awake all night,

    zzzzzzzzzzz......