In which the Keelhauler refuses to take a suggestion

The Keelhauler just called, and I was describing my friend Giuliana's outfit at my pre-party on Friday (all in black, wearing all her fabulous amethyst jewelry in my honor--I was so honored) (really). Giuliana is marvelous, and the Keelhauler commented on her ability to make anyone within the range of her voice feel like the most fascinating, beautiful creature in the universe (he phrased it slightly differently). I agreed with his assessment, and said I wished I had her talent for effusive-yet-sincere-sounding praise, lamenting the fact that I am far too much of a jealous bitch to pull it off.

"Yeah!" said the Keelhauler. "Very grouchy!"
"I can't help it," I said, "I'm trying."
"Trying a little harder, please!" he said, humorously.
"You know," I said, "one of the things I like about Jacques is that when I'm on a jealous rant, he says how marvelous I am and how spirited."
"He lives in France," said the Keelhauler, "That's called The Bravery of Being Out of Range," answered the Keelhauler.
"Well, you might try it," I said.
"Well, if I'm ever in France, I will."



Star of the day. . .James M. Cain
posted @ 3:46 p.m. on October 4, 2004 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......