In which I honor the season

In honor of love; in honor of hope; in honor of the green cashmere cardigan I found at a thrift store for three dollars; in honor of wit; in honor of pain; and the shopping list I found yesterday, which includes both denture cream and pot roast. In honor of the onset of rain, of the new kitten who scratched my hand and made me laugh, of good friends, good times, good news and good head, I bring you:

The First Kiss of Spring

To a rocks glass, add:

  • Some ice.

  • Some vodka.

  • Some grapefruit juice

  • A little fresh-squeezed lime.

  • The scantest peck on the cheek of Chambord, as from a maiden aunt and not that bartender you've been eyeing, you know the one.

  • and a lime wheel, for the rim of the glass.

Bottoms up!



Star of the day. . .Frank Crowninshield
posted @ 2:31 p.m. on March 26, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......