The Smile dream comes true

I had to alert all my friends that we'd just had an earthquake, in case they saw it on CNN and became concerned. (None did, but I like to make sure.)

Al wrote back and said that the quake was probably God's way of reminding everyone to go out and buy Brian Wilson's new album, entitled "Smile." Apparently it worked, because when I got the message, I was walking back to the office from the record store--a very great place called Just Play Music, on State Street.

I love Just Play Music because twice, when I've gone in there, the clerks have deigned to compliment me on my "good choice" of CDs to buy. When you're as insanely dependent on external approval as I am, even the near-indifferent "good choice" of a total stranger record clerk can reaffirm the beauty of living (even if there's only one day left!).

Today, the clerk, brandishing the "Smile" CD, said, "Good for you!" enthusiastically, and told me all about how he went to see Brian Wilson in LA on Sunday. I commented that I hadn't known he was playing, and the clerk said, "It was by invitation only," so apparently Brian does not have a current address for me. But he was really nice, and told me all about how Brian had "initiated" a conversation with him "backstage," and how great it was and all. Mainly, when someone says "good choice" to you, it means that they want to tell you about what the particular CD means to THEM, but hey, if I go through life continually questioning everyone's motives, it's going to be a long 24 hours.

Anyway, now I am going to listen to it.



Star of the day. . .Brian Wilson
posted @ 2:33 p.m. on September 28, 2004 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......