In which I explore this small, small town

It's a small town. I live in it. I try to find things to do.

I live next door to Lorelei--next door = next boat. Her boat is the next one down the dock.

Tonight, she invited me to come to karaoke. She had the advantage, in that she can sing. We went to the Lucky Kowloon, where she entertained the folks with a stunning rendition of "Shadows of the Night," which caused the elderly pirate next to us to lean over and tell me how "splendid" she is. I said, "Oh! I know!" in response. He grinned and nodded and went back to his Jack and Coke. "I'm not hitting on you!" he said to Lorelei when she returned. She nodded, and said she was married. "Oh, I'm married, too," he allowed, pointing at his ring. A second later, he said, "I'm not really married... I just wear this ring to scare off girls."

The last time I was at the Lucky Kowloon, it was a Monday night and I was with Carson, who was feeling morose yet managed to rock the house with his version of "Just a Girl," yet unmatched at any venue. He followed with a theatrical and operatic "Seven Nation Army" that deserved a wider audience, but garnered more applause than you might imagine. You know: for a Monday night, at the Lucky Kowloon.

Remembering his success, and forgetting that I have no talent, I consumed several glasses of wine and attempted "Seven Nation Army."

God bless Jack White. Don't ever try that song unless you are him. There are several long passages that, unless you are wielding an electric guitar with considerable finesse, you have no business being present onstage for.

Well... don't try that song unless you are him or Carson. Carson did a bang-up job, in his straw hat and "Barbie"-themed rhinestone stickpin.

It would seem to come down to a matter of commitment and style. Style, I've got, but I've always been weak on commitment.



Star of the day. . .Beau Brummel
posted @ 12:02 a.m. on June 10, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......