What price glory?

To: Violet
From: GLORIOUS COLLINS

GOOD DAY SELLER,
MY NAME IS CHIRF DR. COLLINS GLORIOUS THE MANAGING DIRECTOR FOR GLORIOUS AUTO PART LIMITED AND ALSO I AM A RETIRED CAPTAIN, PLEASE I WILL LOVE TO BUY YOUR ITEM FOR ONE OF MY WORKER WHO IS TO RETIRED NEXT MOUTH I WANT TO GIVE HIM THESE AS A MARK OF WORK WELL DONE FOR ME IN MY COMPANY [Also I will like to know if this item is in perfect condition], SO PLEASE TELL ME HOW YOU WILL LIKE ME TO PAY YOU COS I THINK I WILL BE PAYING THROUGH EITHER CASHER CHECK OR MY PASSONAL CHECK SO TELL ME WHICH OF THIS YOU WILL PREFER ME TO PAY YOU WITH, AND IF YOU ARE INTRESTED IN SELLING TO ME PLEASE SENT TO ME ALL THE INFO THAT I WILL SENT THE PAYMENT TOO, I WILL BE PAYING YOU THAT SUM OF MONEY YOU SEE IN THE SUBJECT LINK AND I WILL LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU AS SOON AS YOU GET THIS MESSAGE, HAVE A NICE DAY.
KIND REGARDS,
CHIRF DR. COLLINS GLORIOUS.

----------------------

To: GLORIOUS COLLINS
From: Violet

Dear Chirf Dr. Collins Glorious:

How is life in the auto parts biz? Rolling along, I guess, wouldn't you say? Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! (Joking!)

Anyway, thanks so much for your message. You are indeed a thoughtful employer, to buy your worker a sailboat upon his retirement. What auto parts worker wouldn't appreciate that "mark of work well done" as he heads off to enjoy his golden years, assuming he lives near some large body of water?

So, before we finalize this deal, which admittedly sounds like a win-win situation all around, tell me a little more about you, Dr. C. (Can I call you "Dr. C."?) Where are you located? Will the boat require shipping? I have to admit, it's not in PERFECT condition, I mean, it is forty years old. How perfect are you looking for, here? Do we have a little wiggle room on the deck paint, or will a scuff here and there send a message to your worker that his "work" was not all that "well done"? I imagine that a little "joshing around" is customary among auto parts workers, but I wouldn't want your worker to feel that the gift of an imperfect boat is somehow a subconscious reflection of ambiguity on your part, regarding the quality of his work. Do you see what I'm getting at, here?

I guess what I'm suggesting is a little soul-searching in your camp, Dr. C. Ask yourself: Do I really want to give this retired auto parts worker a slightly imperfect--if classic--sailboat? What will be the finest reflection of his years of polishing cams (or just insert whatever job he actually does)? When retired auto parts worker is out sailing the boat next mouth, will a golden ray of the setting sun highlight that slight nick in the starboard winch and cause a sudden pain in his heart as he realizes that your gift to him is minimally flawed? Can you afford to take that chance, Dr. C? Only you can say.

I wish you the best in your search for understanding.

With all my deepest hope for you,
Violet



Star of the day. . .Nanette LePore
posted @ 10:14 a.m. on July 15, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......