You'd been to the station, to meet every train

It feels like there's something sinister in the ether, like a wisp of smoke curling through, not enough to make you choke, but enough to make you pause and try to discern the scent.

I walk through my days feeling fine, even happy, but every night I have vivid dreams of death and loss that feel bearable but unsettling. And every morning I wake up with a song in my head. Today, it was Leonard Cohen's "Famous Blue Raincoat." My first conscious thought upon waking was the line, "Your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder."

And so what of it? Probably nothing, but waking up to Leonard Cohen music sets a certain tone for the day, heavy on melancholy, and I find it puzzling that something so minor could color my experience.

The other morning I woke up with "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain" in my head--I remember that as being part of my just-before-waking dream. I was in a room full of friends who were all waiting for me to play the song on a guitar, and I was failing to master it.

I've forgotten my other morning songs--I should start writing them down, to see if there's some kind of pattern outside of the apparent blue theme. It's my blue period. I know the other songs didn't involve the word blue, but they've faded from memory.

I've spent too much time alone of late, and while I enjoy being alone and am busy, extended solitude makes me melancholy. The Keelhauler's been out to sea, and out of phone range, so I hadn't talked to him for five days.

The phone rang at 2:30 this morning and I answered it, as I always do, no matter what time it may be. It was the Keelhauler, finally back in range, calling to say he'll be back this afternoon, and would I meet him with the car when he gets off the boat. He sounded relieved at the prospect of getting back on land, and mentioned that the last week had been very difficult. Now that I think of it, "Famous Blue Raincoat" is one of his favorite songs, and although we don't listen to it often, perhaps my subconscious picked up the echo of his melancholy, and expressed it in song.

Sincerely, L. Cohen.



Star of the day. . .Lloyd Cole
posted @ 9:00 p.m. on November 03, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......