Weekly wardrobe wrap-up

The title of today�s entry might lead someone to believe that this wrap-up is a regular part of Spark and Foam, which is not the case. I wore the same boring old combination of black sweaters and pants this week that I do every week, but today I put on an outfit that simultaneously channels Wally Cleaver and pays tribute to the fine folks at Benjamin Moore. I am extremely proud, and on a day like today, with the high point of being bitten by a dog and the low point of finding that once again, someone has found my site by Googling Freakishly Large Breasts, I felt that a celebration of sartorial triumph was in order.

First, the outfit:

You might notice the price tag on the sweater�a lawn-green heavy cashmere cardigan I bought at the thrift store for three dollars. I left the tag on to act as subtle, shimmering inspiration, in hope that others will recycle and reuse and hop off the vicious consumer bandwagon, maaaaaaaan. The sweater in combination with the sleek black penny loafers that I just got at Nordstrom (and left the price on for previously stated reasons) gives me a distinctly sock-hop air. I wasn�t aiming for it, but I�m going with it, daddy-o.

The color of the sweater (which I indicated here, using a combination of dry-erase markers whose fumes left me reeling incoherently) reminds me of some paint samples from Benjamin Moore that I happen to have in my handbag, in case of a color-matching emergency. A quick review:

Tropical seaweed green

The glistening hue of undersea toxic waste inspired this elegant green, bringing to mind long afternoons spent dragging swamps for missing hikers. While perfect for a mudroom or unfinished basement, this shade, applied to an external surface, will cause neighbors and passers-by alike to rush to their phones to inquire about local municipal view ordinances.

Nacho cheese

Ideal for a den featuring a big-screen TV, this charming shade of orange allows crumbs spewed while shouting �DEFENSE!!!� to blend effortlessly into the walls, over time acquiring a handsome textured patina reminiscent of Tuscan stucco or vomit.

Yellow highlighter

A natural choice for a home office, but why not branch out? Paint all the ceilings in your house with this brilliant, sunshine yellow, and wake up screaming every morning.

Startling orange

Another entry in our Fun House Collection, Startling Orange is best applied with a spray gun in wide swaths for an effect that will recall long afternoons spent bobbing for salamanders in active volcanoes.

And with that, I depart. Have a lovely weekend, and if you need to reach me, just...



Star of the day. . .A.C. Newman
posted @ 12:00 p.m. on February 03, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......