In which I communicate more directly

I love to participate in things. Ask anyone. I�m a joiner! And while it is true that I was asked to leave Bluebirds after three weeks on a trumped up failure-to-sell-almond-brittle charge, my enthusiasm for jumping on the bandwagon remains undiminished. So when I heard about NaBloPoMo, where bloggers post every day in November, I thought, �perfect!�

You will notice that today, November 5th, is the first day in November that I�ve posted. My natural sense of adventure caused me to post the first four days psychically, in an experiment I call NaBloPsyPoMoFo, and I have to say, it�s been a great success. (Those of you with highly developed ESP, confirm: am I right?) Since it is not possible to top the greatness of my previous four psychic posts, I�ll just go back to writing drivel. And �Swack� to the middle column! (Sorry�that�s an in-joke to those who psychically perceived my entry for November 2nd.)

So, what is HAPPENING, y�allllllll? I�m just so happy to be here. We�re still moving our offices, which is great and totally fun. I have revisited many files and papers I�d stuffed in drawers or that had fallen behind desks. Little notes to myself have reappeared, bringing up questions like, �Why would I have written �Dr. Wu� and �Everything I Own� under a series of hashmarks totaling 34?� Actually, that is the only question. And if anyone can answer it, I will send you a PRIZE.

Additionally, can someone translate the following, please?

Nunc est bibendum, nunc pede libero pulsanda tellus -- Horace

Thank you.

So, it is a day of little consequence. I got a flu shot while wearing unsuitable clothing, which meant that the rest of the line got to see my bra strap. It is black, for those of you who have not seen the pictures floating around.

And, one more thought: I hate worrying. I hate hearing about worrying. Worrying is a useless activity which allows the worrier to falsely believe that he or she is doing something productive. I come from a long line of worriers, and have long since tired of those who would stir up drama with supposition and hearsay. That being said, I am operating today under a cloud of worry. The little orange cat I�m house sitting did not come back inside yesterday, and I woke up at 3:00 AM with a pain in my chest caused by anxiety over her absence. I love this little orange cat as if she were my own, and while it is certainly possible for a cat to stay out all night, I am worried about her.

So, if you would, send out a Safely Home prayer for my little orange cat, who is so beloved. (See illustration.)

ILLUSTRATION



Star of the day. . .Orange Kat
posted @ 1:24 p.m. on November 05, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......