Don't go in the water

I have a new perfume. It's called "L'Ombre Dans l'Eau," or "Shadow in the Water," and I liked the sharp, unusual scent as well as the image the name created in my head. I was making a concerted effort (in my ongoing attempt to "mystify" my personal image) to abandon everyday floral perfumes and embrace a fragrance that screams "shark attack." So far, no one has commented on it, and it is clear to me that this means they do not like it and are being polite. Huh. Curious.

The only person who did say she liked it, actually, was the girl who sold it to me at Pierre LaFond. She also told me, enthusiastically, that the tape measure I was buying was a duplicate of the one purchased there by "Elaine," from Seinfeld. According to the salesgirl, "Elaine" is "rillyrilly nice?" which is obvious from her choice of tape measure.

So... I've struck out on the perfume of mystery, but I acquired a tape measure with a certain level of celebrity cache'. It's like my own personal lucky star is shining directly on me!



Star of the day. . .Julie Atlas Muz
posted @ 12:06 p.m. on September 23, 2004 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......