Through the years, we all will be together, if the Fates allow

Is it just me, or is today a little melancholy?

It could be just me, and most likely is, given that I've spent a good portion of the morning reviewing events of the past year, the results of which have me just the slightest shade of blue. Blue-violet. It's not severe, and this too, shall pass. (Add commas as necessary.)

I have no specific plans for tonight, which feels odd and slightly unsettling.

The last time I had no specific plans was a couple of years ago, when, to ward off boredom and stay-at-homeness I subtly manipulated this architect who had a crush on me into taking me to a very swanky party. The party was at a lovely house overlooking the city, but the hosts irritated me by making me take off my shoes, and as my "date" insisted on holding my hand throughout the entire event, I succumbed to drunkenness and flirting in a desultory way with the only single man in attendance. At night's end, I retaliated for the shoe incident by keeping the socks the host gave me to wear, and swiping a bottle of Mo�t & Chandon White Star out of the fridge on my way out the door.

The architect dropped me off at my friend Tahmi's house, kissing me goodnight with a little more tongue than I believe is customary between casual acquaintances, but I just kept my mind focused on the free, free Champagne and hopped out of the car. Truck. I think it was a truck, actually.

And here, let me interject with a little advice, guys: If you are picking up a Fine Lady to carry her out to a swanky New Year's Eve party in a tony neighborhood, do not drive your pick-up truck. Your date will snag her stockings on the mudguard and spend the evening secretly resenting you.

So, I have a small superstition, which goes like this: What you do on New Year's Eve at midnight foretells the way your year will unfold. It is only a superstition, but I hold fast to it. For that reason, if I find nothing to do this evening, I should probably go home and neaten my boat, and paint a picture and listen to music and drink the bottle of excellent pink Champagne I have hidden in a secret location known only to me. And spritz on some of the fine Chanel No 5 I received for Christmas.

I really want to stack the cards in my favor. It seems to me that that is not such a bad way to start a new year.

I wish you and yours a lovely night. Here are a few guidelines to get you through the coming days. Number 41 is especially true, so you might want to write that one down and keep it on hand for ease of reference.

Cheers, my friends.



Star of the day. . .Polaris
posted @ 1:05 p.m. on December 31, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......