In which I get my wish

I�ve got the ghost of a splitting headache, part of a lingering low-grade hangover due to cheap vodka and smoking heroin out of a Sprite can last night. But, shhh� that part�s a secret! I explained the extended nap I took on the break room sofa this morning as necessary, claiming I�d been �overcome by fumes.�

So, last evening is a bit of a blur, but that�s just part of the fun of going to see one of my all-time favorite bands, the mystical, elegant Calexico. My certainty that they�d be underappreciated in this little town was roundly bitch-slapped by the discovery, two days prior, that the show had sold out. But, being the resourceful girl reporter that I am, except for the �reporter� part, I immediately went about solving the problem via the time-tested method of complaining.

I text-messaged my only friend who would conceivably sympathize with me over a matter like not being able to go see Calexico�my friend Al Perry. "Calexico is sold out, Jeez McGeez!!" I wrote, bitter that I was unable to incorporate a whinier tone. I was hoping for commiseration, but instead, Al wrote back almost immediately, stating that he had text-messaged Joey, the lead singer of the band, to see if he would put me on the List. The list, the beautiful list! When I read Al�s message, I dropped to my knees and thanked God that I had taught Al to text-message, lo these many years ago.

[Wiggly dream sequence waves of reminiscence�.]

It happened several years ago, after one of our three-hour phone conversations. I was bitter that he had to hang up the phone in order to, I don�t remember, have knee surgery or something, so I sent a text message reading, �Can you receive text messages?� My phone rang almost immediately. It was Al.

�What was that?� he asked.

�A text message,� I answered. �I guess you can receive them.�

�So what do I do now?� he asked.

I gave him instructions, which led to a long and fruitful friendship of brief electronic messages sent by phone, my favorite of which arrived yesterday morning, and read simply, �You are on the list.�

[Memory wiggle lines and we�re back to the present!]

The list! The beautiful list. The Keelhauler and I met up with Mathrock and Sweetheart, who had will-call tickets, and hoping not to sound like a total ass, I will admit that it was gratifying to walk past the line of people looking hopeful beneath a sign reading �NO TICKETS,� and announce to the doorman that I was on the list. It was even more gratifying to see that my name actually was on the list�I have a slight horror of guest lists, owing to years of irresponsible musician boyfriends who �forgot� to add my name to the list, leading to many uncomfortable scenes of begging and threatening at the doors of various clubs. But there I was, and extended my hand to get inked with a stamp, and the Keelhauler, my plus-one, did the same, and in we went, to mix with the hipsters.

And so, Calexico. Here is a picture, in case you�re not familiar, of the two primary members of the band:

That�s singer and genius songwriter Joey Burns on the left, and John Convertino, the almost-unfairly talented and good-looking drummer. (The Keelhauler tolerates my distant and wholly ludicrous crush on John with an eye-rolling good humor. I think he's gorgeous, even with the startling '70s-style pron mustache he was sporting at the show last night.) They are the spark and fire behind the band, and I encourage everyone to love them and buy everything they have ever put out, because you will love their oceanic swell of melody and rhythm, and want to listen to them all the time and roll around in their discarded clothing and gum wrappers, out of sheer idolatry.

So, this not being a show review, I will just state that the band was fantastic and lyrical and inspired much dancing and �arriba�-ing and a few heavy-metal high notes (on my part). Our friend Chavis was there, and I was so [intoxicated] happy and [drunk] into the music that I forgot to congratulate him on the baby that his wife had two weeks ago. (Reasons I will never be fit for motherhood, chapter 56: "Oh, RIGHT! The BABY!") After the performance, I introduced myself to John, who was disassembling his drums, explained who I was, and asked him to thank Joey for adding us to the list. Then, because I have a horror of talking to celebrities, as soon as I finished my announcement, I ditched. And, ha ha ha, I just realized that I wrote, �Explained who I was,� which makes it sound like there was a possible impressive element to the introduction. �Greetings, minion. I am Violet, Queen of Estonia.�

And I realize that I cannot in good conscience chalk up my good fortune of being added to the guest list to my having taught Al to text-message lo, these many years ago, but this is my Beautiful Christmas Miracle and I�ll remember it as I wish.

(But thanks, Al, really.)



Star of the day. . .Al Perry
posted @ 4:28 p.m. on December 08, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......