In which I muddle through somehow

I am recovered from yesterday's Jour de WTF, thanks to a lot of high-quality vodka, some Triscuits, and the good, good love of you good, good people. Yesterday's whirlpool of self-doubt has petered out, leaving me bobbing around in the ...sparkling �bay of ...mid-range contentment, and YES! another perfect metaphor from your host, Violet of the Pacific.

So� in the absence of a coherent entry, here are a couple of things on my mind today:

  1. Is there a reason that so many burlesque girls incorporate �von� in their names? Is there something specifically Germanic about this art form, or is �von� just the new �de,� as far as swanky stage names? Ja, ich bin hopelessly behind the trends, but you already knew that. I did, however, once try to start �von der� instead of �Mc� in the sarcastic name Olympics, but it faded to little acclaim.
  2. It is once again time for Performance Outfit Anxiety Corner! I have several options for our next show, all of which I will reject, reconsider, and finally abandon in favor of some unlikely combination involving an all-black ensemble and very high heels. Witness the drama! Or, you know, don�t.
  3. The mystery lady, standing near my desk, looking through a binder. Who are you, mystery lady, and why are you carrying a tape measure? There. I just stuck out my tongue at her back. That�ll show her.
  4. That is, actually, all.

(Yeah... Sorry.)



Star of the day. . .Christopher Durang
posted @ 12:36 p.m. on January 23, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......