In which it is electric

I'm all amped up this morning, for a couple of reasons, including my bizarre fixation on Electric Six and resultant need to hear "Danger! High Voltage!" forty-three times in a row. The song has something for everyone--uncomfortably raunchy guitar riffs, thumping bass, Jack White on backing vocals (shrieking like a speed-freak banshee), and the implication that sheer romantic desire can cause conflagration at a Taco Bell. I love it so much--the vocals sound like Cartman from South Park grew up into a Bon Scott impersonator. They really rocked the commute this morning, I tell you what, and they will continue to do so until my coworkers turn up to protest my inappropriate dancing.

I'll chalk it up to preparation for Disco Gary's arrival as my new proposed boyfriend, and keep the volume high--it eases the malaise of another day in the cubicle.

The impending full moon is spinning my wheels as well, and to celebrate, I made a great, great mix CD that everyone will love!

Here's the song list:

MY GREAT NEW MIX CD, OH YEAH!

  1. Some happy banjo song, yay! that I don't know the name of -- by a band I don't know, YAY AGAIN!

  2. Nitemare Hippy Girl -- Beck

  3. In the Street -- Big Star

  4. Well, All Right -- Buddy Holly

  5. We Could -- John Prine & Iris Dement

  6. As Ugly As I Seem -- White Stripes

  7. Sunshine -- Jonathan Edwards

  8. Storm Across the Sea -- The Mighty Chuck Prophet

  9. Ballade de Melody Nelson -- Serge Gainsbourg

  10. Danger! High Voltage! -- Electric Six

  11. Lonesome, Ornery & Mean -- Waylon

  12. Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues -- Danny O'Keefe (I think)

  13. Brilliant Mistake -- Elvis Costello

  14. Wrecking Ball -- Emmy Lou Harris

  15. Under the Milky Way (live) -- The Church

  16. Stand Tall -- Burton Cummings, awwwwwwww, yeah!

  17. Sugar Water -- Cibo Matto

  18. Boil the Breakfast Early -- the Chieftains

  19. Sail On -- the Commodores

  20. China -- Cracker

So, if anyone would enjoy to have this CD, email me or leave me a note and I'll send it out. Then we can all groove in harmony! It really is the first step toward world peace.

That, and the acquisition of KITTENS, sweet, sweet kittens.



Star of the day. . .Dick Valentine and John S O'Leary
posted @ 11:11 a.m. on June 09, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......