Things I'm choosing to blame on Mercury going retrograde on July 22

  • The fax I was sending to the DMV failing to go through for two days;

  • My failure to remember that a house guest would be arriving today;

  • Neglecting to switch my crocheted "Ernie" and "Bert" dolls from the washer to the dryer, resulting in their new pervasive musty odor that subsequent washings did not eliminate;

  • The uncomfortable fit of my jeans;

  • Fragile, easily split fingernails;

  • The fact that the cat I'm watching slept atop my head last night;

  • My failure to appreciate Winona Ryder's performance in "Edward Scissorhands," which I watched on the FX channel this weekend;

  • My intolerance of the personality quirk of my coworker Melvin, a non-driver, which this morning caused him to rail against a local ordinance requiring parking provisions at all private residences, despite the fact that he is not in the market to buy a house now or ever;

  • The fact that I did not buy a lottery ticket on Saturday, resulting in subsequent failure to win the jackpot;

  • My apparent inability to write a coherent entry, and ensuing depression, recognizing that things may not improve until Mercury goes direct on August 15th;

  • Everything else in my life.



Star of the day. . .Bootes
posted @ 3:43 p.m. on July 25, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......