In which I want you right now, baby

Happy Tax Day! With Easter and Tax Day coming so close together, I combined the celebration and stayed in last night, folding laundry and listening to the MC5. It's traditional in my family, and I feel that it's exactly the kind of Kick Out the Jams celebration envisioned back in 1970-whatever, when John Sinclair and the MC5 were preaching revolution. I feel renewed, and I have a whole pile of clean clothes to show for it.

I talked on the phone for a while with Al about the fact that I still hadn't sent him a damn demo of my band, but I finally got over myself on that front and burned him a CD. The sound quality is iffy, owing partially to the fact that we rehearse in a brewery. Although it is a fine space, it does not offer optimal acoustics owing to very high ceilings, clanking of machinery, and occasional audible drunkenness on the parts of the band members, on account of the proximity of beer.

Still, the CD I burned has a certain lively quality that I like. I don't feel the need to focus too highly on production if it takes away from spontaneity.

And that being said, the MC5's "I Want You Right Now, Baby" is the best love song I know, in that it dispenses with metaphor and gets right to the heart of the matter by wildly and repeatedly asserting the title statement. It's very convincing, much moreso than a bucket of sap like "Have You Really Ever Loved a Woman," or any of those other eunuch-penned odes to romance and ultimately, the power of deception. Because look, all "If You Ever Really Loved a Woman" or whatever it's called, whatever that song is, is saying, "I Want You Right Now, Baby," but it's taking the longest, wussiest way imaginable to say it. And you have to wonder about anyone who covers his intent in that much syrup. What's he hiding, anyway?



Star of the day. . .Rob Tyner
posted @ 1:34 p.m. on April 17, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......