Assessed for repairs

What I have lost

  • One yellow sapphire earring

  • Those two black sweaters I got at the Salvation Army a while back

  • The cord to the electric blanket

  • The mix CD Al sent me with �Special Lady at the Waffle House� on it, and a Polaris CD

  • This year�s Family Monopoly Challenge, and accompanying trophy

  • Those dark brown pants. I loved those pants

  • Patience, with my Uncle Joe Don, for telling me that the Vietnamese restaurant I�d recommended no doubt serves cat in their noodle soup

  • The right to play in future Family Monopoly Challenges, based on a trade that my cousin Virginia�s husband Gary deemed �unethical�

  • One 18k gold hoop earring, received as a birthday present in 1998

  • Any sense that I am headed in the right direction, life-wise

What I have retained

  • The box from the Polaris CD

  • Two buttons, in a little plastic bag, from a black coat I no longer own

  • The absurdly high sentimental value I attached to those gold hoop earrings

  • The satisfaction of knowing that my theft of $800 from the Monopoly bank went undetected

  • The theoretically electric blanket

  • A found grocery list, written on a yellow Post-It, including the items �Hweat� and �Blue Onion�

  • A phone number, likely outdated, for Rita Rudner (though we are not acquainted)

  • Several possible retorts to Uncle Joe Don�s derogatory comments about the Vietnamese, the French, the state of Vermont, beer drinkers, Blue Laws, and gay marriage

  • Water, here and there

  • The words to the chorus of a song about Hercules, written by my friend Jim for a play I was not in

  • The understanding that I am ready for the next great segment of my life to begin, and the uncomfortable feeling that perhaps some impetus on my part is required

  • The certainty that stasis is the most likely outcome of my Dream + Ambition equation



Star of the day. . .Hercules
posted @ 3:18 p.m. on November 28, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......