In which my confidence is restored

Despite the thunderstorms that woke me in the middle of the night, and the dream in which I was trying repeatedly to amuse my friends by imitating Bill Cosby, I feel much better today. I had a little "moment" yesterday, my own personal meltdown, following the receipt of my new driver's license.

Thanks to all of you who reassured me and lent advice on coping with what--let's face it--is the biggest personal tragedy anyone, anywhere has ever experienced, bigger than Paris getting her Sidekick hacked, even. I'm grateful for your support, and it strengthened me to the point where I was able to go straight to the DMV this morning and demand a re-shoot.

The new license turned out infinitely better to the previous one, and I'm now feeling strong enough to share the first picture with you, in a series I've decided to entitle "Before... and After."

Before...


and After.

I tried to have the DMV lady draw in a word balloon to commemorate Johnny's words at the moment of the picture being taken ("I love this woman with all my being!!!" or something like that) but she demurred, citing an ink shortage. No matter. The crystalline beauty of the occasion is preserved in my heart, witnessed only by me, Johnny, and Verlene the DMV photo lady.

Sweet dreams are made of this.



Star of the day. . .Selma Bouvier
posted @ 12:13 p.m. on October 17, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......