Lazy Monday

Monday + Hangover = LAZINESS.

From the lovely Willowfox I swipe this quiz:

1: Grab the book nearest to you, turn to page 61, find line 12. Write down what it says:
"and 63."

2: Stretch your left arm out as far as you can. What do you touch first?
A marble paperweight topped with a metal plaque bearing the high-contrast image, and autograph of, Ed McMahon circa 1970. (Bonus: It was "Made in Italy.")

3: What is the last thing you watched on TV?
Some X-Games motocross-on-snow event. It was on in the bar I was at last night. Yes! Two-handed tail-grab!

4: WITHOUT LOOKING WHAT TIME IS IT:
No need to shout, but... 11?

5: Now look at the clock, what is the actual time?:
11:01 AM, PST

6: With the exception of the computer, what can you hear?:
Cars. But not The Cars, although they were playing on the jukebox, you know, in that bar I was at last night, prompting a long and unwelcome monologue concerning my amazement that Ric Ocasek, head of one of the most alienated, clinical bands of the '70s (i.e., The Cars) would have come to produce an album by affectionate man-of-the-people Jonathan Richman, in 1998.

7: When did you last step outside? What were you doing?
I stepped outside at 9:00 or so, to walk to the corner to get coffee, since the Coffee Club no longer exists here at my office. Such a rip.

8: Before you came to this bulletin, what did you look at?
I am aware of no "bulletin," but I was probably staring out the window, looking for Jesus.

9: What are you wearing?
Black pants that I think might actually be charcoal, and a black sweater, and a heavy veil of self-loathing.

10: Did you dream last night?
I did. I dreamt that the dogs I'm babysitting got out. Also, that I got a text message from my friend Lorelei telling me I fucked up the tags in my diaryland entry again.

11: When did you last laugh?
My heart knows no laughter--only rain, rain, endless... ah, I don't know, like an hour ago.

12: What is on the walls of the room you are in?
A series of hash-marks left by the former inhabitant of this cell, and a poster of Spartacus. SPARTACUS!!!

13: Seen anything weird lately?
Actually, yes. When I was walking to get coffee, I saw a lump of gelatinous material, bittersweet orange in color, on the sidewalk. It was roughly cylindrical, and slightly translucent. I would estimate that it weighed around two pounds. Then, a few feet later, I saw, lying at the front wheel of a ratty Volkswagen microbus, what appeared to be a large quantity of cereal, like corn flakes, and milk, in a puddle amidst a broken cobalt blue vase and a vial for prescription drugs. Like someone had become frustrated trying to eat their breakfast from a vase, and owing to a lack of Ritalin or whatever, smashed the whole works on the pavement. From the window of their VW microbus. I guess.

14: What do you think of this quiz?
It makes me feel vaguely uneasy.

15: What is the last film you saw?
"Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo"

16: If you became a multi-millionaire overnight, what would you buy first?
Lottery tickets. LOTS of them.

17: Tell me something about you that I don't know:
If you're the one who's been spying on my through my iPod, you already know everything about me.

18: If you could change one thing about the world, regardless of guilt or politics, what would you do?
Free candy corn for all, all year long.

19: Do you like to dance?
I am considered a Master of the Electric Slide.

21: Imagine your first child is a girl, what do you call her?
Garanimalia

21: Imagine your first child is a boy, what do you call him?
Bitters G. Pickedlastforkickball



Star of the day. . .Loudon Wainwright III
posted @ 10:53 a.m. on January 30, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......