In which the answer is in the mix

Because I am what's known as a "late adapter," you've most likely read everyone else's version of this thing, and yet because I have no sense of when to stop beating the horse, I'm going to go ahead and do it anyway! Yay!

The idea is to hit "shuffle" on your iPod and use the ensuing playlist to answer a series of crucially important questions. It's a musical Magic 8 Ball, and I am a sucker for anything that centers around me, so here goes!

Well, here goes my second try, my first try being slightly boring except for the question "What is my favorite sexual position," which the iPod answered with "The Christmas Song," necessitating a do-over or risk eternal damnation.

  1. What is missing from my life? --
    100 Years Ago -- the Rolling Stones. I interpret this to mean that I lack either a solid grasp of history, or that my life is missing an aging rocker. As it happens both are true. Go, iPod, go!

  2. Will I find love? -- Little Ghost � the White Stripes. Obviously, this is meant as a reassurance that Jack White remains my Imaginary Boyfriend. Fidelity in the spirit realm is good enough for me.

  3. Will I become rich? -- Kingsport Town � Cat Power. No, but I will rule a small municipality.

  4. Does someone have a crush on me? � Spider Monkey � the Gear Daddies. OK, I can take it. I�ve experienced worse.

  5. What is my favorite sexual position? -- Handcuffed to a Fence in Mississippi � Jim White. I never would have revealed this otherwise, but it�s true.

  6. Am I good looking? American Tune � Indigo Girls. What the�? First of all, this is not exactly a strong Yes. Second of all, how the hell did this song get on my iPod? I don�t care. I�m overruling this one, and I�m going to pretend that the answer came out �Sadly Beautiful� by the Replacements.

  7. What makes me the most happy? -- Introduction � Greg Brown. It�s true, I do enjoy to meet new people.

  8. What is my biggest regret? -- Forever for Her (Is Over for Me) � White Stripes. This could refer to my recent quasi-Lesbian affair with Eldon (see two days ago, or just take my word for it). I had to dump her, owing to her inability to procure financing for my dream vacation home, but I still regret it.

  9. How will I die? -- The Wrong Kind of Love � Jim White. I�m guessing this relates to the handcuff/Mississippi idea.

  10. Do I act my age? -- Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien � Edith Piaf. Kind of an internationl �When I am an old woman I shall wear purple� thing.

  11. What type of tattoo should I get? -- Blue � Joni Mitchell. See, the first time I tried this exercise, I got Invisible Ink by Aimee Mann, which answer I like better, but I could not lie to you and just insert that answer here. Bad iPod mojo.

  12. What is my spirit/animal guide? -- Nervous Guy � Old 97�s. Figures.

  13. Do I like pain? -- The Last Old Shovel -- Phyllis Boyens. This is another one I can�t trace, but it gives off a kind of �murder behind the chicken coop� vibe that makes me vaguely uncomfortable.

  14. Is there anyone else like me out there? -- Guys Like Me � Aimee Mann. Yes. Guys. Some guys who are like me.

  15. Do I love to party? -- Put Me On Top � Aimee Mann. I�m not sure why I would need to ask the iPod about this, but since I did, I�m going to take this answer as a clear yes, with tendencies toward kegstands.

  16. Where should I move to? -- Fall On Me � REM. Silly, literal iPod.

  17. Will I ever be president? -- Burning Desire � Band of Blacky Ranchette. No, but I super want to be!

  18. What is fun for me? -- Undressed � Lloyd Cole. And just like that, my penchant for nudism is revealed to all.

  19. Will I ever learn to fly? -- Wayfaring Stranger � Neko Case. This is the iPod equivalent of �Ask again later.�

  20. What is my super power? -- Jumpin� Beans � Frank Black. Self-explanatory. But you should see my costume!

  21. Will I be successful? -- Bicycle Spaniard � Cracker. Possible future representing Spain in the Tour de France? Is there any way to interpret this one? No. There is not.

  22. How often do I get angry? -- Mind the Gap � Calexico. Whenever I have to go the mall.

  23. What is my favorite thing to do? - Disintegrate � Gravity Kills. Oh, right. Like that�s news.



Star of the day. . .Jasper fforde
posted @ 4:59 p.m. on March 11, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......