Call me Holly Hobby

You're still thinking nonstop about how to get the heck out of whatever financial/work-related situation you're in by turning your hobby into your career. Well, do your homework. In just a few weeks, you could be ready.

That's my horoscope for today, and despite its folksy, "we're all pals here in the universe!" tone, I am choosing to listen to it, because I really have been thinking a lot about how to "get the heck out of" this job and do something that means something to me. Or at least that I enjoy. It can be meaningless--I'm not picky. But it has to be enjoyable.

I have a long list of things to accomplish by the end of the week, one of which is to decide which "hobby" I can choose to turn into a "career." I have a number of things I guess I could define as hobbies, in that no one pays me to do them. Each has potential, as follows:

  1. Hobby: Singing in the car; possible career: American Idol

  2. Hobby: Doodling; possible career: Recognition as the next Patrick Nagel

  3. Hobby: Staring out the window; possible career: spy

  4. Hobby: Looking up trivial information on the web; possible career: replace Alex Trebek as host of Jeopardy!

  5. Hobby: Whistling; possible career: famous whistler

  6. Hobby: Failing to organize paperwork; possible career: conceptual artist

Like that. All it takes is a little imagination.



Star of the day. . .James Brown
posted @ 12:06 p.m. on April 25, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......