GFY! Good For You!

So, once again I have wasted/spent way too much time on one particular website, laughing and laughing and appearing, from a stats perspective to the owner of the site anyway, like a deranged stalker. And yet... I feel strangely gratified. For in a day characterized by minor frustrations, the highlight of which was being given a business card on which the person's title was listed as "Human Being," I found a little spark of happiness called Go Fug Yourself.

Actually, I didn't discover them at all. Maven referred to them, and I followed her link to a closet stuffed with hideous joy. The authors carefully dissect the unflattering and tasteless outfits of celebrity repeat offenders like Kelly Osbourne (who's unforunately inherited an exact replica of her father's moray-eel grin, although she boasts a bigger rack), the deeply serpentine, slit-eyed Chloe Sevigny, and Christina Aguilera (who seems to be morphing into Ethel Merman, if you ask me, which you didn't). If you despise bad taste, bloated egos and gaping, skeletal celebrity maws as I do, you will devour each page of Go Fug Yourself like a starving man at a... food... place. Like a buffet, a nice, complimentary one like at a big hotel, with carved canteloupe and a giant fish layered with thin slices of cucumber that resemble scales.

As I sat here eating fresh ginger gelato from Tra-J's, like the diet-fucking-up hypocrite that I am, I ran across a photograph that reminded me of this guy I used to see from time to time in Boston. (When I say "see," I don't mean "date," but rather "observe from a great distance, albeit repeatedly.") He was frequently out at the bars, and although I don't recall his face, I vividly remember his apparent favorite piece of outerwear, which was a maroon tuxedo jacket, ca. 1976 or so, on the back of which was hand-scribed in large, silver glitter letters, LENNY KRAVITZ SUCKS. I wasn't specifically opposed to the message, but I did wonder what Lenny had done to the guy to inspire what was almost certainly a late-night bitter glitter-glue session in a poorly-lit Central Square apartment. That was a long time ago, but today, I found this, and it brings me closer to understanding the jacket guy's motivation. In fact, it kind of makes me want to buy some glitter-glue and an old tuxedo jacket. In fact, I'm going to get some glitter-glue right now. Because why spring for the BeaDazzler if you don't have to?



Star of the day. . .Disco Stu
posted @ 4:28 p.m. on June 22, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......