In which there is a fox on the run

Want to make me happy? Use this word:

FOXY

(Use it in reference to me, I mean. Random references to alternate foxy ladies don't do it for me.)

You just don't hear the word "foxy" a lot. I don't, anyway, and don't be wise and draw inferences to my personal appearance or I will make you regret it. I mean, people I know don't tend to use the word "foxy" unironically.

I was talking to a friend today, and he told me I was looking "foxy." It was a totally gratuitous compliment, since I was speaking to him by phone and hadn't seen him all day, but still: I suddenly felt foxy. The word has power, implying not only devastating beauty, but guile, requiring a deft handler. Only someone confident in handling the fox may unironically use the term "foxy...." Say it with me, now: "Foxy." (Yeah, it's so fun.)

In my life, I can count the number of times someone's referred to me as either "foxy" or "a fox." Four. Four, that I remember. Three of them were women, none of whom were hitting on me:

  1. Helena, my former boss at a temp agency. I ran into her on the street in Downtown Crossing one afternoon, and she exclaimed, "You look great!" then after looking me over from head to toe, added, "You always were a fox," in kind of an off-hand way.

  2. Emily, who I knew in Tucson, who was this genius scientist and hipster, and happily married to a guy who people occasionally mistook for her twin brother. She hosted a political fundraiser for a candidate I worked for, and apparently reacting to the slinky dress I had on, introduced me to a guest as "Violet... our foxy treasurer." Ka-ching! That's right, honey.

  3. Carolina, a woman I hardly know at all, who works in my building. Earlier this week, she turned as I walked into the lobby, did a double-take, stopped, and said, "Don't you look foxy today!" Why, yes. Apparently, I do.

And then, today. So, really, it appears that my "foxiness" is increasing. Twice in one week, I've been called "foxy"!

My horoscope today advised me to use my supposed great powers of enchantment to my advantage, and since I have no big plans for the evening other than maybe drinking a glass of wine and reviewing perceived slights from the day, I'm going to use those powers on YOU, my friends. Because if I am foxy, I want you to be foxy, too. We can all be foxy together, and revel in our wily superiority.

You... look FOXY.

Say it to someone today! Say it to someone you want nothing from. (Bonus: you might get something out of the deal anyway, but you can fake like you were being altruistic at the outset.)

Say it, ready? "You look... FOXY."

It's a foxy, foxy world.



Star of the day. . .Jimi Hendrix
posted @ 10:35 p.m. on February 10, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......