In which there are advancements made

OK, you guys, gather 'round!

Can you keep a secret?

(Don't fuck with me: Can you?)

OK. I think my plan is working!!

I am not 100% sure, but I may be the owner of a new kitten soon! AND a new auxiliary boyfriend!

A couple of days ago, I mentioned my plan to ask Disco Gary to move onto the boat, if my boyfriend refused to let me get a kitten. I don't really know Disco Gary--in any event, I made up that name for him, and really only met him once, and I hadn't actually caught his name. So I was surprised this afternoon when, on my drive down the coast from work, the phone rang and, on answering it, I heard a resonant and vaguely familiar voice.

"Yeeeah!" said the voice. "Uh, is this Miss Violet White?"

I confirmed that it was.

"This is, uh... Disco Gary, yeeaah!"

Amazing. He sounded so disco-y. I was glad that the Keelhauler was out of town, so I could speak freely.

"Hi, Gary!" I said, cheerfully yet with a note of husky flair, like Kathleen Turner, only younger and with narrower shoulders.

"DISCO Gary," he corrected me, adding, "yeeah!"

Disco Gary was calling me to discuss my plan for him to move onto the boat, which he had read about on the Hinternet.

"Isn't it a great idea?" I asked, enthusiastic. He was hesitant, and expressed concern that the boat lacked sufficient headroom for him to stand inside.

"Well," I mused, negotiating traffic on the 101, "we could open the hatch in the main salon, and you could just duck down until you reached it, and then stand up under it."

"Yeeah!" he answered, "like a giraffe in a taxi!"

Exactly.

He expressed concern over insufficient room for his jewelry, which he liked to keep on his person, and then resisted my suggestion that he invest in some shoes with non-skid soles, asserting that his roller skates were sufficient for wear at sea.

So, we'll have some adjusting to do, but he likes the idea of living with me, the Keelhauler AND the kitten, so I think I'll have an ally.

I fielded several calls from Disco Gary this afternoon, each more disco-y than the last, and I feel that he's going to make a good addition to our crew.

And... and... and... you guys, if you want a CD as described in my last entry, shout out, OK? OK.



Star of the day. . .Disco Gary
posted @ 10:56 p.m. on June 09, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......