In which it is finished

I finished the Never-Ending Mural this weekend, just in time for the big Memorial Day blow-out! Party like a... veteran?

OK, so there was no blow-out, but I did finish the mural, with only one minor display of "artistic temperament," during which I stomped minorly around, complaining about changes the client wanted me to make, and only just stopped myself from making a giant X in white paint across the whole mural. The Keelhauler was there with me, hovering and stage-whispering "Watch your posture!" for some reason, as I slumped around dramatically, whining about all the work I was doing and for no money and aren't I just the spoiled little bitch, all together now, say it with me: YES, YOU ARE.

My continued inability to watch my posture unnerved the Keelhauler so much that he at one point approached the client and explained that I'd been "under a lot of stress" lately, offering a variety of made-up reasons. When I learned that he'd run interference for me, I felt like the bad-example character in an after-school special, like, "Don't upset mom! She might start drinking again!" I felt so ashamed. And yet... I also experienced a certain satisfaction, knowing I was being perceived as Temperamental. I'm tired of being accommodating. I think it's time to put on my Difficult shoes.

Bonus: even though I was painting this mural for FREE, the client paid me anyway. I don't know whether my display of obstinance had anything to do with it (probably not), but let's face it: this is exactly the kind of reinforcement that I require, if my bad behavior is to continue. It's going to take some refinement to be perceived as Talented-yet-Temperamental instead of just Pain-in-the-Ass, but I think that with work, I can achieve the proper balance. Reimagination of the self is, after all, the subtlest and finest art of all.



Star of the day. . .Lucy van Pelt
posted @ 10:10 a.m. on May 31, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......