Summer session

Highlights from an old summer session notebook labeled �Cultural Anthropology� that may illuminate the reasons for my failing grade in that class:

  • June 2 -- Anthropology: A science for the study of Homo Sapiens; all humanity.

    Read �Tiwi Marriage.�

  • June 5 -- �I know Dave still wants me; I can tell. He�s got a new girlfriend now, but I�m going to do everything I can to break them up.�
  • June 6 -- �The only reason I even fooled around with Steve is because I knew that Dave would hear about it. Also, I knew that I couldn�t refuse just because of what Dave might think. I mean, what if I�d refused and Dave hadn�t even cared?�
  • June 12 -- �[Dave] said that every time he sees me, he wants to screw my brains out.�
  • June 13 -- �Met a new guy; Andrew. Hit it off immediately� [two sentences later] Made plans to ditch Andrew and go off w/Marshall�I fucked that up. I blew Marshall off cos I was off fucking Andrew somewhere in Brighton.�
  • July 17 -- �Oh my GOD -- Sam told me that Andrew was living with his girlfriend and everything blew up. I am totally in love with Andrew (I think) and so he came over and explained and blah blah blah we decided to be friends and all that.�
  • July 21 -- �God. I seriously have nobody. No one new to have a crush on. Brian came over on Tuesday night and we made love. Before that, the last person I'd made love to was Marshall.�
  • July 25 -- �Had a pretty good weekend.�
  • July 27 -- �I want a boyfriend.�
  • July 31 -- �I saw the most gorgeous hazy sunset tonight. The sky was all silver and plum and in front, etched in black, were spindly trees. I wished I�d had someone there to watch it with me. (Andrew)�
  • August 14 -- �Ran into Andrew tonight. I love him so much. He�s so beautiful.�
  • August 16 -- �And I really like him, as a person, in addition to being in love with him.�
  • August 18 -- �I love him. I love him so much.�
  • August 20 -- �I went out with this guy Lee tonight. He spent seriously so much money on me but I didn�t sleep with him.�
  • August 24 -- �Summer beat me down and August is standing atop my grave.�
  • August 27 -- [Draft of lyrics for untitled song that I will in retrospect title �Neon Love�]
  • August 29 -- �I guess this is what you could call An Identity Crisis.�



Star of the day. . .Sybil Brand
posted @ 3:29 p.m. on July 31, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......