In which I am cooped up

It's a beautiful day in the marina, and what am I doing? Typing this, watching the Keelhauler and Mathrock disassemble the diesel engine in our boat. Wanna come over?

Knowing nothing about diesel engine repair, I have been relegated to fetching food and beer, and occasionally hitting the power switch on the shop vac. The Keelhauler gives me a verbal cue to turn the power on, and then, because my attention has wandered during the actual vacuuming, he calls me back by patting his hand over the end of the nozzle to create a rhythmic change in pressure that snaps me back to the job. It's kind of Pavlovian. I like it and dislike it equally.

While the guys are working on the engine, whom I've named Benji the Enji (over much protest), I am listening to the rough mix of our band's CD and narcissistically singing along, the aural equivalent of making out with someone who looks just like me. I recommend it! Both singing along with and making out with someone who looks like me. You will like it.

Anyway, my big TV debut has not yet occurred, so my great Lemon Water remains a secret to the world at large. Even so, I feel the intense pressure building, as I prepare to emerge in all my glory to the water-and-lemon-loving world.

In the meantime, while I await fame, I have fine-tuned my Pam Beesley impression:

�Corporate sent word that we were no longer allowed to use bottled water. So I stopped using bottled water. And now I use pitchers of water... And... apparently that means that I get to appear on television. [self-conscious nodding]�

The key to perfecting that impression is to not speak the words "self-conscious nodding" aloud.

I have the nautical equivalent of cabin fever. I guess it could still be termed "cabin fever," as we do have a cabin, but I prefer a more salty name like "Cap'n Salty's Lament" or whatever.

So, because I am obviously bored and unable to lend any meaningful assistance outside the victual to the guys working on the engine, my obvious choice of activity is: Making up new drinks. We have a full bar here aboard the boat, and within easy reach I see Myers's rum, limoncello, vodka (citrus and regular and unleaded), Chambord, tequila, Bailey's, aquavit, and Glenlivet. And looky here, a freezer full of ice.

I'll catch you guys later.



Star of the day. . .Nicole Atkins
posted @ 2:58 p.m. on July 21, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......