In which if I were not king, I would lose my temper

I never dream of flying, but sometimes I wonder how far I could fly, were I given the ability. I think it would be about half a mile. Since no one has bestowed the ability upon me, I guess it will remain a mystery, although today's magical caffeine high seems to have the potential to float me at least down the block.

After giving up caffeine for a month--the most boring of sacrifices--I inexplicably ordered a giant coffee from two coworkers who were headed out to Starbucks. They came specifically to my desk to ask me, which has never happened here, and I couldn't bear to let the opportunity pass. In essence, I relinquished my sacrifice for the momentary acceptance of two people I couldn't care less about. I think the stress over my terrible bangs (unsecured by a barrette today, and hence tall and unruly) deranged my normally lucid thinking.

And so here I am, halfway through this giant coffee, wondering if I could fly down the block. I could at least try it, I think. If it didn't work, there's no harm done.

I'm also on a separate, unrelated high owing to two great packages of excellence I got in the mail yesterday. The first is from Andria, and included a smashing CD mix entitled Songs that go well with boxed wine. Outside of a tiny camera that spies on my every move, Andria had no way of knowing that the Keelhauler and our friend Kent have been on a quest for the finest box wine, a quest largely unsupported by anyone else until this past weekend, when for Kent's birthday we got him a big box of something called Killer Juice. The box has flames on it, so you know it's extra great. And actually, it is good. Now, finally, we have the appropriate soundtrack for boxed wine drinking. All the pieces are coming together in this wonderful life of mine.

The second element of joy in the mailbox yesterday was a giant envelope from a company I freelance for, containing more assignments and also the most recent catalog, which included some of my work. I was probably more excited than the situation warranted, but that is generally true. Naturally, I have shown the catalog to everyone I work with, so that they may buy my products and in theory increase my fame, although not my wealth. (Flat rate compensation, yo.)

I think I'll go buy barrettes to celebrate. Sparkly barrettes, possibly featuring some form of floral motif. Because really, I just caught a glimpse of my bangs, and I might as well be in costume as Louis XIV. Or XV. I can't remember which had the tall bangs and long, bubblicious hair.

OK, it's XIV, witness this: (see illustration)

ILLUSTRATION

That is essentially the look I'm working today, sans the ermine cloak and fey, beribboned slippers.

Maybe I should just go with it. L��tat, c�est moi, b�b�.



Star of the day. . .Jack Torrance
posted @ 6:25 p.m. on July 12, 2006 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......