In which, Gee, my hair smells terrific!

It does, you know. Like mint and lavender. That�s what the label said, anyway. I�m having trouble identifying any specific aromas, but still: it smells terrific. Would you like to know my secret? Sure. We all would!

I arrived yesterday at a new house where I�m pet-sitting two fluffy dogs. I call them the Area Rugs, after their shiny, low-pile coats and habit of lying around underfoot. They seem to like it, and smiled up at me doggily as I patted their heads, telling them how good they are. �Good dog!� What else are you going to say? It is my main method of communicating with dogs, followed by �Down!� and �Word!� and it�s served me well.

Among the framed photographs of variously, the Area Rugs and Madonna, the owner had left me a note explaining that I was to give the dogs anything they wanted. He�d also left the number of a veterinarian, with the comment that should anything happen, I was to authorize treatment, regardless of cost. The cupboards were bare of anything but spices, so I examined the cookie jar, which was filled with homemade, delicious-smelling dog biscuits. The Area Rugs cocked their heads at me, eyes moist with longing as I absent-mindedly ate a couple of biscuits. Mmm. If only that were true. They looked really good. In truth, I handed over the biscuits to the Rugs, and microwaved myself some frostbitten wax beans.

After looking in the freezer and investigating the hot tub, it came around on the guitar that I had to jump in the shower, which I did. Once the water was running and I�d stepped in, I realized that my shampoo was missing. Probably, it had rolled out of my shower bag and was rattling around on the floor of my car, with all the shoes, hairbrushes, and prescription medicine bottles. At any rate, I wasn�t inclined to get dressed and hunt for it.

The shower was devoid of toiletries, not even a shred of soap clinging to the metal rack hanging at a lonely angle from the shower head. There was, however, a bottle of something called �Buddy Wash.� The label, which featured a cheery line drawing of a dog, advertised its lavender and mint scent. I thought of the Area Rugs, romping in slow-motion in the sunlight, their coats glossy and full of bounce. How bad could this Buddy Wash be?

It turns out that the Buddy Wash was just great. I recommend following it up, as I did, with the Buddy Rinse, for best results. And drop a raw egg yolk into your oatmeal every morning, for added shine.

It�s a dog�s life.



Star of the day. . .Mike Peters
posted @ 12:27 p.m. on August 15, 2007 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......