In which it is Big Wednesday

In the words of Van Dyke Parks, �Surf�s Up!� so grab your board and come on down. I don�t actually surf, or own a board, or swim or go in the ocean, and surfers tend to irritate me, with their cocky stance and incomprehensible, vague patois. But let me tell you, the waves today are incredible. I�d have a photo for you�I fully intended to take some pictures�except that in trying to get my camera out of my purse, I almost drove my car into a Sparkletts truck in the next lane, and had to abandon the mission.

To make up, I checked out the surf report online, and copied this image to give a sense of the scale:

I know! �Wow.�

When the waves get this big, little local businesses will post signs on their locked doors, reading Closed for Big Wednesday or whatever day it is, like if it was a Sunday, they might say Closed for Big Sunday, although I�ve never actually seen that. And anyway, lots of businesses are already closed on Sunday, like the good thrift store downtown, so no sign necessary, dude.

Anyway, I have another story to tell, but I�m feeling really under the weather and kind of gross due to eating the worst lunch ever, so it�ll have to wait until tomorrow. I�ll just say that the story involves the following elements:

  • a school bus

  • a pyramid scheme

  • a series of forgeries

  • slight remorse

  • Anjelica Huston

More manana. (��Buddy brah�)



Star of the day. . .Van Dyke Parks
posted @ 3:35 p.m. on December 21, 2005 before | after

|

She lay awake all night,

zzzzzzzzzzz......